To FourSquare or not to FourSquare? That is the question.

I admit that I am not always the first to jump on the bandwagon with new technology. I like to wait until they “work the bugs out” first. So when FourSquare came out, the first thing I thought of was, “that’s one great tool for thieves!”

But after a few encounters with close friends who were always “checking in” wherever we went, I started asking questions. And I decided that if I only “friend” people who I would otherwise trust to tell my whereabouts to, there really wasn’t a safety risk … and there WAS potential for coupons, special deals and offers. Plus, I’m in marketing, so I feel a responsibility to understand such platforms in order to better serve my clients. So, I decided to take the plunge.

And just like Facebook, Pinterest and angry birds, it’s addicting. Maybe not if you aren’t competitive, but if you are … watch out!

As I checked in at T.G.I.Friday’s today for lunch, I took the time to read the “tips” and I realized just how important this platform is for retail establishments, from restaurants to grocery stores, anyone on FourSquare is giving an instant review of their experience with your brand. There were nine tips for this T.G.I.Friday’s … everything from how hot the bartender is and how fast the service is, to the disappointment over the lack of vegetarian choices on the menu.

So my advice is this: if you own a brick and mortar business of ANY type, take the time to check out this platform. It’s a wonderful opportunity to leverage your brand, to monitor your “buzz” and to improve your product or service. AND, it’s ok for you to check in, but don’t try to be your own “mayor” or those who *are* competitive, might choose a competitor just for the sake of bragging rights.

For what it’s worth, that’s my two cents. 🙂

 

~ by Rainmaker Marketing and Sales on February 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “To FourSquare or not to FourSquare? That is the question.”

  1. Thank you, Emily, for your wonderful introductory description of Foursquare! Very practical! ~Norman

Leave a Reply

 
