“Little Children Love Each Other”

On this Saint Patrick’s Day, I celebrate my Irish Heritage and all that it means to me to be a Kelly.

My Great Grandma, Anna Golden Gill, grew up in Achill Island, Ireland.

She used to ride her bike a mile, to row a boat a mile and then walk a mile to school, and back, every day.

In Ireland then, the children recited their lessons (memorized them). She could recite them word for word til the day she died.

The most commonly recited was “The Town Pump”, but our favorite was “Little Children”.

“Little Children love each other. Are you always kind and true? Do you always do to others, as you’d have them do to you?

Are you gentle to each other? Are you careful day by day, not to give offense by actions, or by anything you say?

Father, mother, sister, brother, are made glad when you are kind. Home is happy, heaven smiles on you, if you have a gentle mind.”

She was sharp as a tack til the day she died and she lived to be 101 years old.

She was a chinese checkers MASTER, and she never apologized for beating the pants off any of her grandkids.

You couldn’t leave her house without having heard, “Have some Pepsi!” “Have some cake!” She was a most gracious host and her best recipe was her Irish Soda Bread.

She gave me a pink security blanket when I was born. I slept with my “fuzzy” folded neatly on my pillow every night until I was in college, and it is probably one of the reasons that to this day, “fuzzy” things are my favorite.

She had 12 brothers and sisters and outlived them all. And she was the mother of 6, grandmother of 28 and great grandmother of 49. I am proud to be one of those great grandchildren, and I honor her legacy today as I sport my Kelly green.

So, what does it mean to be Irish?

To me, it means you treat others as you want to be treated.

It means you appreciate your family, and you stick together through thick and thin.

It means you work hard.

It means that you know the meaning of love.

And pride.

And that you fight for what you believe in, even against all odds.

It means you have a sense of humor.

It means you can relax and have fun.

But most of all, it means you have faith.

And reverence for the Lord and His blessings.

And here’s an old Gaelic blessing for you:

“May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
The rains fall soft upon your fields,

And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.”

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone!

Long live the Irish!!

Great Grandma, Anna Golden Gill, and I ~ My First Communion

~ by Rainmaker Marketing and Sales on March 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
